Area Research Centers (ARC) for the Wisconsin State Archives

Note: We prepared this list for your quicker reference with regard to poorhouse records.
But IF you find that your county does have poorhouse records held by the state archives,
don't just assume they are in the ARC rather than Madison.   Please call to confirm.  PHL


for which local government records housed at ARC

 Ashland Ashland, Bayfield, Forest, Iron, OneidaPrice, Sawyer, Vilas, and Washburn counties
Eau Claire Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Eau Claire, Rusk, and Taylor counties
Green Bay Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, and Shawano counties
La Crosse Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau, and Vernon counties
Milwaukee Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha counties
Oshkosh Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, and Winnebago counties
Parkside Racine and Kenosha counties
Platteville Crawford, Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, and Richland counties
River Falls Burnett, Polk, St. Croix, and Pierce counties
Stevens Point Adams, Juneau, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Portage, Waupaca, Waushara, and Wood counties
Stout Barron, Dunn, and Pepin counties
Superior Douglas county
Whitewater Jefferson, Rock and Walworth counties

Return to WISCONSIN state page     Return to  Poorhouse HOLDINGS LIST       HOME